1959    London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art, Verse and prose speaking medal

1978    Maxwell Medal and Prize of the Institute of Physics

1982    Elected to the Royal Society of London

1983    Elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts

1983    Elected Fellow of the Royal Institution

1986    Elected Member of the Royal Society of Sciences, Uppsala

1989    Elected member of the European Academy

1990    Julius Edgar Lilienfeld prize of the American Physical Society

1990    Paul Dirac Medal and prize of the Institute of Physics

1990    Elected to Indian Academy of Sciences

1990    Royal Medal of the Royal Society

1993    Naylor Prize, London Mathematical Society

1994    Louis-Vuitton Moët-Hennessey ‘Science for Art’ prize (Paris)

1995    Hewlett-Packard Europhysics Prize

1995    Elected Foreign Member of the National Academy of Science of the USA

1995    Elected Member of the London Mathematical Society

1996    Dirac Medal and Prize of the International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Trieste

1996    Knight Bachelor Queen’s Birthday Honours, 15 June

1997    Kapitsa Medal of the Russian Academy of Sciences

1997    LEGO Master Builder Badge

1998    Wolf Prize in Physics

1998    Elected a Governor of the Weizmann Institute

1999    Honorary Fellow, Institute of Physics

2000    Elected Foreign Member of Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences

2000    Ig Nobel prize in physics

2001    Onsager Medal (Norwegian Technical University, Trondheim)

2002    Novartis/Daily Telegraph ‘Visions of Science’ competition, 1st prize (Science as Art), 3rd prize (Science Concepts)

2005    Elected to Royal Society of Edinburgh

2005    Polya Prize, London Mathematical Society

2005    Chancellor’s Medal, University of Bristol

2008-2010 Leverhulme Emeritus Fellow

2010    Elected first Honorary Member of the Mexican Mathematical Society

2012-2014 Leverhulme Emeritus Fellow

2012    Distinguished Visiting Professor, Marymount University, Virginia

2014    Richtmyer Memorial Lecture Award, American Association of Physics Teachers

2015     Lorentz Medal, Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences

2015-2017 Leverhulme Emeritus Fellow

2016     J E Moyal Medal, Macquarie University

2017    Honorary Fellowship, University of Bristol

2019    Lise Meitner Medal, Stockholm